Getting started… notes from an imprecise cook

Hi. My name’s Narelle and I’m new at this whole blogging business. But lately, I’ve been taking photos of stuff I’ve made and putting them on Facebook, then my friends asked me to send them recipes so they can make the things too… so I thought that writing everything up in one location might help share the love around a bit easier. Hence, this blog.

While I like cooking, unlike what they say on cooking shows and magazines, I tend to be a bit laissez faire in terms of measuring and weighing. In short, I’m a very imprecise cook.

So my recipes celebrate that imprecision. If you can’t handle the uncertainty that brings, then this might not be the place for you (sorry, but that’s how it goes).

My plan here is to simply share with you some adventures in cooking. Don’t expect anything fancy; I’ve got two little kids and so it’s pretty simple stuff. But its generally delicious. And EASY! It’s all about easy… Sometimes it’s not fantastic; that’s what adventuring and experimenting is all about.

I’m going to try to post at least a recipe a week. I’d love it if you’d post your own recipes and ideas on here too – the idea of a shared recipe folder is what inspires this endeavour!

As I write this, it’s summer in Melbourne. The garden is massively overgrown and I am battling the birds to get to the plums first. The tomatoes have taken over (as you can see, they have eaten the compost bin) and are only matched by the bean vines, although they seem to have no beans on them. There are lots of herbs, not-quite-ripe grapes, and some green strawberries. So I’m cooking some fun stuff and will post those pictures and recipes in the coming weeks. But some days, we just have spaghetti bolognese; it’s easy, my kids love it and, as everyone has their own version of it, I’m not going to waste your time with that!

187

 

5 thoughts on “Getting started… notes from an imprecise cook

  1. Hi Narelle,
    This is a great idea! Looking forward to trying some of your recipes! May put up some recipes too if I can work out how to!
    Cheers,
    Michele

Leave a Reply

